Folk Art Adventure

Standard

What started out as a ‘fun little project’ has turned into a colossus of detail.  I began with a collection of flowers and other elements cut from various fabrics.  I bought a variety of beads and of embroidery floss for embellishment and started in.IMG_9322I have seen many examples of “folk-art” having had the opportunity to visit The Museum of International Folk Art in Santa Fe.  I am intrigued by the nature of this category of art with its bright use of color, eclectic and unexpected pairings of materials and designs, and endearing inattentiveness to quality or standard that magically comes together with a kind of flea-market cachet. It is such a departure from my natural bent towards creative order that when I saw a display at a local shop, I thought I’d like to give it a try.

IMG_9357

I’ve discovered that I like the somewhat tattered and unplanned look.  There is a certain creative freedom which develops in the absence of exacting precision; I can use any color thread and don’t worry about evenness of stitches or tidiness of French knots and I can stitch on beads with abandon.  There are no rules, no dictates, just art and that’s fun! IMG_9356

4 responses »

    • Actually, I have set this work aside for quite some time now and your comment inspires me to pick it up and finish it. Thanks for your kind words or encouragement! 🙂

  1. Hi Amanda! So nice to hear from you. I’m glad you like it. I haven’t quite decided how to use it yet, but I agree that the technique could easily be applied to clothing and it would be fantastic. The finished piece is quite large and might be applied to the back of a jacket, or possibly a pillow top or wallhanging…. I haven’t quite decided yet.

Love to hear your comments

