Holiday Entertaining

Standard

A Celebration of Hearth and Home

I love the holidays, especially Thanksgiving.  There is nothing quite so satisfying as a house filled with the aroma of roasting turkey, the lively banter of family and friends and the carrying on of traditions.

My menu is strictly traditional with roasted turkey, dressing made with toasted pecans and pork sausage, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry chutney, fresh green peas and roasted beans.  When it comes to desserts, we are a bit less traditional opting for a creme brûlée with fresh raspberries.

Please, you’re welcome to come along and join the party!

 

7 responses »

  1. Beautiful, Kerry. How have you been? I’ve been scarce due to work, commuting and catching up with things since the move. Hope you and yours have a blessed Christmas.

    • All is well, thank you! I know well the feeling of not being able to attend to blogging like I would like to due to time constraints… not enough hours in the day, but life is good and we count our blessings. Wishing you a joyous and blessed Christmas, too. 🙂

      See you in the New Year.

  2. That looks so inviting and cozy. I love all three kinds of pies. Loved the video. Made me feel like I’d been there. We had dinner at a friends home as we have some transition going on but hopefully next year will be all decked out.

    • I know all about transitions, too… sometimes they’re not so easy. That’s why I put as much energy as I have into keeping traditions up… traditions offer stability in an ever changing world. Your comment makes me very happy; I’m so glad you visited and joined in the celebration. Stop by again, anytime. 🙂

  3. I hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving, the meal sounds like it was delicious!
    In Ireland, the Christmas dinner is very like the Thanksgiving meal. In our home, we always had “non-traditional” deserts – something like Pavlova, it’s nicer to have a light desert after a heavy meal!

    • Yes, it was a wonderful day! I agree about the lighter desserts… they are much better after a heavy meal, although I do miss the traditional pumpkin and mincemeat pies I used to have as a child. I don’t make them,because my family members don’t eat pies and I can’t afford to eat a whole one by myself… although I’m sure I could manage it. 🙂

      • A little tip, mincemeat pies freeze really well (my mother makes individual mince pies for Christmas, and freezes batches so they can be taken out and heated as need when visitors arrive). That way, you can make the full pie, cut it into slices, eat one, and then save the rest! 🙂

Love to hear your comments

