Empress Irene of Byzantium

Standard
Empress Irene of Byzantium

Saint Irene Piroska of Hungary 

fabric mosaic

I put the finishing touches on Empress Irene (pronounced eye-ree’-nee) today.  Thank you to everyone who made a guess about who she might be.   I think she looks pretty good for a mother of eight children.  🙂

I still have to get it pinned to a foam core and scanned, but that will take a bit and I wanted to share before I go on my summer blog break.    Below is a cropped version and another image with the border that I use for a matting effect when I frame it.

Empress Irene

with border

Empress Irene - fabric mosaic

The source of inspiration for my fabric mosaic was the famous mosaic found on the south gallery wall of the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul.

Hagia Sophia mosaic

close up view

Empress Irene

28 responses »

  1. Beautiful work Kerri. I am in awe . You need to write a blog post about what inspired you to fabrid art and your journey about learning the techniques. I am so inspired by your work. This is the first time I am coming across a portrait done with fabrics. Never knew such art existed. Fantastic work .

    The girl who met you at the coffee shop : ).

    CS

  2. Your version is, to my eyes, more inspiring and inspired than the original. Beautiful is all I can say.

    • Emily Ann, I’m currently not blogging, but hope to be back soon. I couldn’t let your exquisite compliment go by without surfacing to say thank you. That is the nicest thing you could have said. Thank you so much. 🙂

  3. Your artistry is exceptional Kerri. It comes naturally to you because your soul is reminding you of previous experiences that were important to you. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you, Linnie. It was a very challenging piece and I learned some new techniques in the process. It doesn’t show, but the crown actually has glitter applied to the fabric which sparkles like crazy when you see it in person. Thank you again for your very generous compliment… much appreciated! 🙂

  4. Amanda, thank you so much! I’m glad you like her… you’ve got a great eye and I love receiving your considered opinions…high praise, indeed. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

