Creating braids in fabric mosaic medium

Standard

I think I’ve done it!

Wow, what a challenge creating a braid in fabric, but I think I’ve finally done it.

braid created in fabric mosaic medium

Hooray

One down, one to go.

Doing the happy dance!

I’m going to have to be very careful to make sure the second braid is cut so that it looks like it “belongs” with the first braid.  There is a lot of color variation in the fabric I’m using and it really shows way more than than I thought it would if it’s not done right… learned that the hard way.  I’m going to have to make careful visual comparisons to get it right.  Time to take a break before tackling that.

Maybe I’ll work on that luscious piece of purple linen I bought last week.   Hmm…

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

15 responses »

  1. Wow, this is incredibly precise work. At first glance, I thought it was simply a plaited braid, but on closer inspection, one can see all the work you have put into this. Can’t wait to see the next one.

  2. Kerri, I am really enjoying your posts about how you create your fabric art pieces. You must have incredible patience. I love how your braid is turning out. You are truly inspiring. Have a happy weekend. Linny x

    • Thanks, Linny! Giving recognition to my patience is a great compliment to me. It is something I’ve had to develop as I truly am by nature quite an impatient person. It’s interesting how desire to do something can cause one to overcome characteristic obstacles by necessity. I think the “Universe” has its little joke. 🙂

    • What, purple, did you say purple? 🙂 What is it about that color that we all like so much? Yes, it is a great piece, it’s got a fun embroidered pattern running through it. I’ll have it up to show you, soon, hopefully.

      And thank you for your nice comment on the art in progress… it’s been a bit of a bear with multiple reworking of different elements; I hope that means the final will be extra nice.

Love to hear your comments

