Sewing – Linen and Lace

Standard
Sewing – Linen and Lace

I love lace, but I haven’t used it on clothing in so many years I can’t remember when.  For me, lace is much like a sailor collar; there was a time in my twenties when I felt like I’d outgrown them.  My heart still melts for  little boys in sailors collars… and big boys, too, come to think of it, but I can’t imagine wearing one myself… unless possibly in my second childhood somewhere down the line.  🙂  But back to lace, it’s big in fashion this summer and I’ve been seeing it a lot of it in the fabric store.  I’m always amazed how what is put in front of me begins to look good if I see enough of it whether I think I like it or not.

I found it in the short bolt section of the store and asked the salesperson to measure it for me.  She was wearing a black apron and as she held it up to see how much was left on the bolt, I saw it against the black of her apron and was sold.  It popped, as they say!

lace on white underlay

lace with white underlining

compared to lace on blacklace with black underlining

I decided to use the  Mcalls pattern 9278 I’ve used several times this season for the lace tunic and would make another in black for underneath.  I like the idea that I can get use out of the black by itself, but also have it double as a lining for the lace.

Simple and versatile black tunic
simple black linen tunic

I rarely throw things that I’ve made away and I remembered that I had two black linen pieces that might go with this tunic; I searched for a bit, and found hem.  I paired up the shirt and vest with an old Chico’s necklace I’ve had forever and created an interesting layered ensemble that works; again I really like giving new life to old things and making them seem fresh again.linen layered look

And finally, the lace tunic over the black tunic.  I like the look and feel like it’s a good fashion forward look for summer!

Lace tunic

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

14 responses »

    • Thank you, Norma. You’re right, it was totally lucky. I don’t think I would have bought it had I not seen it over black… it was interesting fabric, but not that interesting by itself. And, I glad you like the black layers… nice to get that feedback. 🙂

    • I so know what you mean… so much of the lace used is kind of cheesy, like what you would find on cheap underwear. And on the other end of the spectrum the better stuff looks like bridal lace or evening wear. This particular piece has substance without being too dressed up making it good for daywear. We concur… 🙂

  1. what a a great idea to take the 2 in 1 approach, I am sure you will get lots of use out of them together and separately – and you could make another tunic in another color to use under the lace later!

Love to hear your comments

