Fabric Art

Standard

Trying Something Different

I’m in an art mode at the moment and even before finishing up the detail on Our Lady of China, I had sketched out my next project… another Byzantine saint.  I’ve done lots of hair before, but never braids.  Creating braids in a fabric medium is going to be an interesting challenge, I’m sure.  Adding to that, the braids are blond and finding just the right color is usually a bit problematic… it can’t be too yellow or too orangey or too gray, etc.  So it was off to Fabric Depot  for a couple of hours of roaming through the hundreds and hundreds of bolts of fabric looking for the perfect piece which may or may not exist.

Here are the two I found.  I am hoping the one of the left will work, because the color is right, although the zigzag design may be too prominent… it’s impossible to know without cutting it up and trying it.  Designs change so much after cutting and re-assembly… sometimes with wonderful results and sometimes disappointingly so. The one on the left is a bit darker than I really wanted… more light brown than blond really, but the texture is perfect for hair,  so we shall see.

fabric samples

Wish me luck.  🙂

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

9 responses »

  1. I had the same experience recently when I wanted to find a range of shades for skin tones that would enable me to portray the huge contrast visible when light conditions are strong and one directional! I sympathise!

  2. Good Luck. Of note, being blond most of my life is about the highlights and the not so light. Maybe try a small piece using both of the fabrics intertwined. If might give you the results that you are looking for!

    I am looking forward to seeing the end result!

  3. wow, I can just imagine the challenge of searching through a fabric shop for a scrap of fabric suitable for hair… almost like the proverbial needle! I hope one of your options works, I think the zig zag looks like it could be fun?

    • A needle in haystack is precisely what it felt like. The store is probably one of the largest displays of cottons in the country and it is daunting to walk back and forth, back and forth in a search mode. It’s much more relaxing to go shopping with nothing particular in mind and just enjoy the array, but that’s not always possible. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

