Fabric Art

Standard

On Checking Out

It’s been several weeks since I posted anything on Sewville, and that’s because I’m knee-deep in a new fabric art project.  Here is a sneak peek of what I’m working on.

fabric art project

I still have some mountains to climb before completion, but I’m inching my way along and am hoping for good progress over the next few days/weeks.  Wish me luck!

I know I’m getting ready for re-entrybecause I find myself thinking about sewing Mandarin collars with increasing frequency. 🙂

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

28 responses »

  1. Kerri,
    This is just beautiful! Your attention to detail is obvious. I like the reply about “I want it this way”. I am always pointing out my errors in case anyone does see them….. NO MORE! Thanks.
    Any tips on sewing with chiffon!?!

    • Thanks, Amanda! I think focusing on imperfections is the flip/down side of a keen eye for detail. WIthout that ability to notice what’s wrong, we wouldn’t be able to get things so right. Most people are admiring the overall effect of whatever it is they are complimenting and even though it’s tempting to point out the flaws, it’s probably more generous to affirm their great taste and let it go at that. 🙂

      You’re brave to sew on chiffon. I have little to no experience with it, because I think of it as difficult to work with and avoid using it. I do know that French seams are often a good application. Last summer I made a dress for a friends granddaughter using organza and while it’s not exactly like chiffon, it wasn’t nearly as bad to work on as I feared it might be.

      Good luck with it!

      • Thanks! Yes, I did those seams. It was the cutting out I found difficult as it kept sliding away and I didn’t want to put too many pin holes in it!
        Anyhow, although the back is slightly off because of that I am not going to worry!
        Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you, Liz. Happy to oblige; I spent too long today putting together a very short video of the piece. It hasn’t been professionally scanned yet, but that will take another week to two and I didn’t want to wait, so I used what I was able to do with my camera. I hope you like her. 🙂

      • She’s stunning!

        Who do you use for scanning? I am thinking about getting prints done of the piece that I am currently working on, but am not really sure on how to go about getting the embroidery turned into a decent photo and thence to print. Any advice you can give would be much appreciated.

        Again, truly stunning. I think this might be my favourite of your pieces.

        • Thank you, Liz. Very nice of you to say! 🙂

          I went through a lot of time and expense before finding a printer with the system I a currently using. I know how important it is to find the right scanning technology that will record textures. I have a resource in my local area that uses a technology called “Better Light Systems.” The thing that makes it different from other systems is that it has light coming in from all directions. I also recommend printing on Hahnemuhle Photo Rag watercolor paper and using archival Epson Ultrachrome ink for good results. Here is my printer’s link if you would like to research the process a bit more: http://www.udevelop.com/camerascans.php
          Good luck!

        • You are so right regarding the light sources. I didn’t know about the Better Light Systems technology and that information is really helpful, thanks!

      • Hi Kerri,
        I’m performing closet lipo for a garage sale. I’ve lost quite a bit of weight and have to get rid of clothing.

        I could perform some refashioning on some things but lack the confidence to do so.

        Mentioned you and 3 other bloggers in my post. http://wp.me/p1dbnt-XO

        Any suggestions?

        Mary Fioretti
        MissMarys.wordpress.com

        • Thank you for referencing Sewville on your blog! And yes, I do have suggestions, but I must first congratulate you on your weight loss. Hurray for Mary!!! 🙂

          My first bit of advice is to throw caution to the wind. I took a workshop once on flower arranging and table decor. The instructor passed out a card that had her philosophy on it. It said something like, ‘I wanted it this way.” Her point was that things don’t have to be perfect and no one really knows or sees the little things that you might consider ‘less than’ so move forward fearlessly and present everything you do as though that was the way you planned it to turn out. She also stressed using what you have and being resourceful. That one workshop changed my attitude about so many things and I have used that philosophy over and over in many areas of my life. It really shifts the perspective.

          So if you are thinking of refashioning, it will be helpful to have a dress form in your current size and then be sure to start with a fairly simple project that won’t break your heart if it doesn’t work out quite how you envisioned. And then get creative. I have seen soooo many unique and interesting ideas online. Be shameless about lifting ideas from other sources and making them your own… that’s what we’re all here for isn’t it? 🙂

          Last piece of advice… have fun!
          I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

        • Thanks so much for the reply. 🙂 I’m way to nervous to cut into some of those fabrics. I think if I have left over, maybe the camel colored pants, I’ll try to make a skirt. I need a good pattern though.

Love to hear your comments

