Sewing with Vietnamese Silk

Standard
Sewing with Vietnamese Silk

Golden Threads

Blogging has been really good for me; I’ve completed so many set aside projects that might have otherwise been relegated to the bottom of the “unfinished projects” bin had it not been that I needed something to write about.  This jacket definitely falls into that category.  I began it at least two summers ago and  got it up to the final sleeve before hitting a road block.  I thought about finishing it many times, but I think the fact that I didn’t have any pants to wear with it was part of why I never followed through.  Recently I found a nice rayon, that while not a perfect match, complements the jacket quite well.

 The jacket is made of a laundered shimmery rayon suiting and accented with the most beautiful silvery-green iridescent Vietnamese Silk.  I treasured this piece of silk and held it for a long time before deciding to cut into it.  I don’t often see this kind of silk; it’s a rare treat to work with.  The front is faced with washed duppioni silk and I used a metal button with a Celtic knot motif for a cultural paradigm twist.  Seams are a modified lap which, if I were making again would have been done in French seams (my new favorite technique).

unfinished jacket with silk scraps

It really didn’t take much to finish up the jacket and I’m quite pleased with the result.

rayon Tribeca jacket with silk trim

ff

15 responses »

  1. Kerri, I love the richness of this fabric. It is very elegant yet very understated. Perfect for any time, any day! Your buttonholes are very interesting. I’ve not seen this kind before. Is it your own creation? Sometime, please post about them. I think they’re not only functional but ornamental as well.

    • Thank you, EmilyAnn. I wish I could take credit for the button patches being my idea, but alas I cannot. I saw it done somewhere and incorporated it into many of my garments. I will definitely put a tutorial together…. good idea!. I’ve used this application so many times and always find it adds interest as well a providing a good stabilizer for buttonholes. 🙂

    • Yes, my sons complain that my closet is larger than their bedrooms and my husband teases me that he only has a very small space for his things within that very large closet. Yes… far too many clothes, but that’s the result of loving to sew, I guess. Thank you for your nice comments! 🙂

  2. Beautiful! Another lovely garment.
    Blogging really does help to get things finished; The thought that I’ve said “I’m going to do this” to so many people spurs me on.

  3. that reminds me, I need to finish a jacket I started making from a thai silk wallhanging my cat hated (he kept pulling it off the wall). its a very shimmery pallete, quite spiders web shades

    I never really think of french seams as unusual, as they were the frist thing I ever did on a sewing machine , and for a long time were the only thing I knew how to do on a machine cos I gave up sewing at school, always sewed at home, but cos I did things differently the teachers of practical subjects like sewing and cookery – the things I’m actaully good at – thought I was stupid

    • I learned to do French seams in a university Clothing and Textiles course and was taught that it was an application used pretty much only with sheer fabrics. I remember them being teeny-tiny and rather a nuisance to deal with. This “new” French seam method adapts much better to bulkier fabrics and I love the clean look.

      I do know what you mean about teachers of practical subjects. I began as a Home Economics major in college (it’s called something much sexier now like school of “family and community health”), but the professors were so exacting/mean that they really took the pleasure out of sewing and I eventually transferred to another field of study. I’m certain if your teachers saw your work, they say they remember you in school as one of their star pupils. 🙂

      • the cookery teacher hated me cos she always specified margerine, which I hated even as a child, so took butter in and used that because I couldn’t see the point in making something I wouldn’t eat. the sewing teacher hated me because I was 35 before I worked out how to thread the bottom spool of a sewing machine – something she completely failed to teach me. I doubt either would see me as a star pupil, since I pretty much failed the basics (but I did handsew my first costume at the age of 14 without any help from anyone)

  4. What gorgeous fabric and colour. I love your finished jacket. Agree with you about blogging leads to finishing UFO ‘s , so that you have a subject to write about. I’ll take whatever inspires me to keep crafting. 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 And it is such a good feeling and so very sustainable to actually retrieve lost projects and breathe new life into them. It’s a nice tidy circle to create and write, create and write.

      • I agree that it feels good to retrieve and complete old projects. My oldest UFO is nearly 30 years old. Back in the 80’s I started a sampler whilst learning how to do patchwork quilting. I am seriously considering revisiting it as I see the 80’s are considered vintage now. It is packed away in storage.

Love to hear your comments

