Vintage Sewing – Tripping In Time

Standard
Vintage Sewing – Tripping In Time

A Spin In The WABAC Machine

Dr. Peabody and Sherman at the  WABAC Machine

If you remember Mr. Peabody and Sherman, you just may be old enough to remember the influx of Indian fabrics into the American fashion scene that occurred during the fashion revolution of the late 60’s and 70’s.  Although that era has reappeared in contemporary  fashion and I’ve avoided it completely,  because of the been-there-done-that-it’s totally-hideous feeling that people often feel when fashions of their youth are recycled for succeeding generations.  Evidently enough time has passed, and even I can see the charm in this totally-funky-flower-power-paisley print that any self-respecting hippie would have loved.  The glitter packs a 21st century glitz that makes it seem fresh and fashionable.  And so… I gave it a try.

Peace and Love!

IMG_6686

I made it to wear during the warm weather, but it was cool out today, so I put a black turtle neck under it and that works perfectly making it something I’ll be able to wear year round.  How totally groovy🙂

flower power tunic

For those of you who may not be familiar with Mr. Peabody and Sherman, I have included a sampling of the kind of humor American kids of my generation grew up with.  Viewer Indiscretion Advised 🙂

12 responses »

    • Glad you like it 🙂

      I hadn’t seen or even thought of that cartoon series in years, but after referring to them in this post I went to youtube and found a bunch of episodes and started watching… they’re totally funny even if a little daringly indelicate by today’s standards.

  1. I love your flower power shirt – it looks great.
    I am so impressed you managed to get a You Tube video onto your blog. I couldn’t figure out how to get it on to WordPress. I’ll have to have another try.

    • Thank you:) I thought you might like this top after reading your post with the Scott MacKenzie reference. I actually went and listened to that song… hadn’t heard it in years, but it was very familiar.
      The instructions given on wordpress don’t work for installing youtube… or at least not for me. I had to go to the media section and select “video” and then I had to enter the URL into the media section, too. The instructions say to just put the URL in the body of your post and they will do the rest… when I do that, the URL shows up, not the video. Good luck.

  2. I’m totally an old hippy at heart and love the Wabac machine! LOL I only wish everything wasn’t sized for adolescents. These skinny jeans will be the death of me 😀 Love what you’ve whipped up, looks great with jeans.

Love to hear your comments

