Sewing with Linen

Standard

A New Jacket For Springtime

jacket front view

Generally I don’t use Kwick Sew patterns much, not for any particular reason, I just am not that familiar with them.  Earlier this week while at the pattern counter in my local fabric store a helpful clerk  thrust the latest Kwik Sew book into my hands and was insistent that I look, so I did.  I don’t know if this is a new pattern or an older one, but I liked the look of and am happy to say it’s a breeze to sew with.  It couldn’t have been easier to put together and it fits nicely.

jacket pattern

The fabric you see is the photo is a great piece of linen I bought four or five years ago.  At the same time, I also purchased a yard of the striped fabric not knowing exactly how I would use it, but it picked up the colors in the main fabric well and I figured it would come in handy.

 I’m not a huge fan of the deep angled line on the front opening, so I adjusted that to be more traditional.  I also decided to apply simplified techniques I learned when sewing with Vogue American Designer, Adri.  For those of you who may not know of her, she uses simple elegant finishing techniques that are perfect for unlined linen garments.  I eliminated the two front facings in favor of the bias bound edge and used French seaming techniques for all the seam to add to the clean look of the interior.

French seam finishes

I removed 5/8 inch seam allowance (except for the hemline) around the entire jacked and applied the bias binding made from the striped fabric around the raw edges mitering at the corners.

bias binding

Because I eliminated the facing I had to add some stabilizer for the button and that was done by sewing a small interfaced square to the inside of the left side of the jacket front.

stabilizer for button

I was pleasantly surprised by how compatible the pattern was to the fabric.  They both have a bit of an Asian feel and I hadn’t really noticed that about the pattern until it was completed.  I’m thinking maybe I’ll make another in solid black.  

jacket back view

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

20 responses »

  1. Lovely jacket! The fabric is pretty and as ever, you’ve made a really good job of the jacket. I have never used Kwik Sew patterns but they do have a lot of variety and it’s good to know your pattern made up so well.

    • Thanks, Rosy. I think I have avoided Kwik Sew, because one more or less has to trace off each individual pattern piece from the main pattern and that takes too much time for me. Kwik Sew was recently bought out by another pattern company so maybe they’ll go to more conventional tissue patterns… hope so. Thanks again for you nice compliment! 🙂

  2. Kerri, It worked out SO beautifully. Even the buttons are just right. I think your finishings up the quality of the garment.

      • You make me feel soooo happy because I’m a little rusty with some things. I’m glad that overall my work still has that quality to it.

        • Emily Ann, there are lots of talented seamstresses around and I appreciate the work I see on other blogs no matter where they are in their experience/technique level. Whether it is someone just starting out of someone with years of experience I like sharing in the joy of creating in fabric. I know I am a skilled seamstress, but your work is at a level I rarely have an occasion to see and I’m in awe of it. 🙂

    • Thank you, Jayne. It’s fun to have something new for spring and the weather is soooooo beautiful today here in the Pacific Northwest… so welcomed after all the gray days we have throughout much of the year.

    • Thank you! Yes, as one who tends toward making things “more” complicated, it is thoroughly refreshing and freeing to simplify and feel good about it… proving that harder isn’t always better.

Love to hear your comments

