I’m In This Big Art Coat

Standard

I Look Incredible

What-what?  What?  What?      What-what?  What?  What?

I'm in my big art coat

I Look Incredible

This is freakin' AWESOME

Before you start groaning…

please understand that this blog entry is fashioned after the lyrics and musical refrain in the hit tune, Thrift Shop, by Macklemore

(The “unclean” version is more fun to watch in video, but the lyrics are decidedly unsuited to my refined audience)

bring the music up and enjoy

(my lyrics go with the part that starts around 3:04 minutes and goes to the end)

  Thriftstore

Thread Shop

I’m gonna sew some clothes
Only got forty dollars in my pocket
I-I-I’m huntin’
Lookin’ for some buttons
This is freakin’ awesome

I’ll wear my own made clothes
I look incredible
I’m in this big art coat
From that thread shop down the road
I’ll wear my own made clothes
I look incredible
I’m in this big art coat
From that thread shop down the road

I’m gonna sew some clothes
Only got forty dollars in my pocket
I-I-I’m huntin’
Lookin’ for some buttons
This is freakin’ awesome

By the way, I did make this jacket for just under $40 dollars.  How’s that for poppin’ tags!   Not bad for a freakin’ awesome big art coat.

23 responses »

    • You know, I’m about ready to go out and buy some more of this fabric, because I feel the same way. It’s just such an interesting piece, but then I think it’s pretty distinctive and maybe I should just leave well enough alone. 🙂 It never fails to elicit comments when I wear it. I think the best comment was the grocery clerk (a guy) who said the motif looked like “the burning bush.” Yes, me and Moses. 🙂

    • Thank you! I always like it when I can get things matched up nicely. 🙂

      I know what you mean about listening over and over.. it’s such a catchy tune that your just want to listen to it again. I especially like the little girl at the end… her little laugh is so … authentically little girl-ish that you can’t help, but smile. There is a youtube video online that shows teens reacting to it and it’s worth a watching; they are so fresh and enthusiastic.

    • Yes, I like that part too and have used it on various garments. It’s especially useful when sewing unined linen pieces for summer. It gives practical support while looking like a fashion detail.

    • Thank you, Jayne. I fell in love with the fabric the first time I saw it. I visualized it in a tailored suit, but thought I would probably get more wear out of the pattern I ended up using. I eyed the fabric for quite awhile before making the purchase, because I thought it might be too bold, but when it went on sale, I decided to follow my heart and am so glad that I did. I’m glad you like it, too. 🙂

    • I love the tune, it’s so catchy. Yes, I am drawn to these colors… they seem to turn up in my wardrobe and my home decor over and over.
      Thrift Store shopping is huge especially with younger people. They seem to love it and are fearless about refashioning things. I’m amazed at how creative some people are with that kind of thing.

      • I have found the coolest things in the thrift shops over the years! Antique lamps, lace, silk and more silk. In my 1912 jacket that I ware a lot, the lining is a repurposed silk dress that I found in the thrift shop. Helps keep the cost down of our hobby!

        Great tune – it is catchy. I find myself going for purples and greens. I find that every few years I shift my colors.

        • I never thought about thrift stores being a resource for fabric, but that’s a great idea. Button prices have gone up tremendously and I’l bet there are some good button finds in thrift stores, too.
          I also like purple and green together… I often look to nature for color schemes and you certainly see purple and green together there. As for color likes shifting, I think a lot of that has to do with what we see consciously and unconsciously. I’m always amazed by the power of suggestion.

    • My college student son introduced me to this music. I can’t get it out of my head (wish the lyrics weren’t so nasty cuz, it’s a great concept… love the little girl at the end). I love this coat, too, it’s my new favorite.:)
      I know the link works, but I wanted the youtube video to come up so you could listen to the music and read my words without the screen changing. I’ve had this problem before… sometimes it works and other times not. Thanks again.

        • The directions for imbedding are very simple; all you do is cut and paste the URL and put it into your post. It is supposed to show up when you publish it. The only problem is that doesn’t always work for me. I’m not sure what I did to make it finally work, but I think Instead of following the directions, I went to the load media button and then followed the buttons to “add video” and put in the URL in the box that popped up. But, I remember doing that once or twice and having it not work; I played around with it so many times that I’m not really sure what the key to it imbedding was. Sorry to be so vague, but it’s a bit of a mystery to me. I hope you’ll have better luck with it by just using the easy method of cut and pasting the URL into your draft. Good luck!

Love to hear your comments

