St. Hildegard – fabric mosaic art

Standard

A Vision Of A Visionary

I am putting the final touches on my latest fabric art project.   For those of you who may not be familiar with Hildegard von Bingen, she was a 12th century German visionary.  She first came to my attention probably ten years ago now, when I was introduced to her ethereal music.   This past year I happened to watch a film on her life which renewed my interest in her; she was a remarkable woman, a musician, a poet, a botanist, a dramatist, a theologian, and a Benedictine abbess who recently (October of 2012) was named a Doctor of the Church by Pope Benedict XVI.  In my research I could find few contemporary images of Hildegard and so I decided to create my own vision of her.

Hildegard, Sybil of the Rhine

fabric mosaic by

RemnantWorks – Kerri Jones

Hildegard von Bingen

I’m putting a final press on her today and will then pin her to a board and take her in for a high-definition scan.  I hope to have this done in the next week to week and a half and then will have a clearer and brighter image to show you.

 

13 responses »

    • Very carefully. 🙂 Actually, it can be quite nerve-wracking because the slightest shift in an eye brow or corner of the mouth changes the whole feeling of the facial expression.
      I’m glad you find her pleasing to look at.

    • She really is an interesting figure and I like her music very much… it is so contemplative and other-worldly. Thank you for your comment, I’m glad you enjoyed it

Love to hear your comments

