Sewing A Tailored Coat

Standard

Steampunkin’  into 2013

Christmas has come and gone, well… almost, (Happy Epiphany ) and I’ve been a been a bit lax about working on my coat-making tutorials during the holidays.  I’m finding that composing a tutorial is kind of like making the coat twice and not all that exhilarating especially after the fact.  🙂   I may write more later… if the mood strikes me, but for now I am happy to publish a photo my son took on Christmas Eve of me in my new coat.  His photos were much better than the ones I took,and I had to wait for him to send me copies, thus the delay in publishing.  

I am very pleased with the result of my labor and especially happy with the alteration I made to the collar shape.  The gray and silver have a certain refined-steampunk-Prussian military look that  I find rather fun.  It was an unexpected result, but it works for me! 

Charcoal Coat Completed


25 responses »

  1. Hi great blog! Does running a blog similar to this require a great
    deal of work? I’ve no understanding of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I just had to ask. Kudos!

    • Thanks, Lanora. Blogging doesn’t require specialized coding knowledge; wordpress makes it easy. Just follow the step-by-step instructions and you’ll be up and running in no time. Good luck!

  2. This is just stunning!!!! Amazing job, the coat looks sooooo fancy. Very classy, I can picture it wearing pants, skirts or dresses. You look beautiful, not just the coat I have to say.

    • Thank you so much for your nice compliments. It is, in fact, as you noticed a very versatile coat. It’s easy to dress up or down and the classic pattern makes it long wearing… it never really goes out of style so is worth the effort to make. Thanks again for your kind comments. 🙂

    • Thanks RRP! I’ve enjoyed wearing it. 🙂

      I don’t seem to be getting your updates. I follow your blog, but when I went to it, i saw that there were quite a few entries I hadn’t seen. This has been happening to me on other blogs, too. Hmph… makes it hard to stay on top of things. 😦 I hope the problem is corrected soon.

    • Thank you, it really is toasty warm. The lining is a special coat lining with a very light flannel on one side and that really keeps out the cold without adding too much bulk. I hope to cover that in a tutorial eventually. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

