Sewing – A Wardrobe Update

Standard

Taking a Second Look

When I find a pattern I like I often make it up is more than one fabric.

I made this particular pattern three different times.

I loved the red wool tweed when I bought it, but never enjoyed wearing it al that much once I made it up into my Tomotu jacket.  I couldn’t put my finger on what exactly it was about it, but I think it was the color somehow… I’m not sure.    Or, maybe the buttons were wrong, I really don’t know what it  was, but it just wasn’t a jacket I chose to wear very much.  Last year I decided to see if I could “fix” it so that I could wear it.  I thought perhaps the shoulder pads were too extended and I took them out and altered the seam line a little.  That didn’t help very much.  I put it back on the hanger and thought maybe it was time to let it go, but it’s hard for me to give things away that’s I’ve put energy into, so it hung in the closet for yet another year.

A few weeks ago, with the season beginning to finally change, I went out shopping to see what styles and colors were “in” for the fall season and I was totally surprised to see this color range on the racks everywhere.  Hmmm… I went home and pulled out my jacket and took another look at it.    I changed the buttons for an updated look and replaced the shoulder pads with new smaller ones.  The transformation was amazing.  I don’t think it hurt that the color is everywhere… nothing like collective consensus to help one off of the fence.

My next discovery was that I had a piece of silk velvet in my fabric stash that actually coordinated very well with the jacket.  I picked up this lovely piece  several years ago and haven’t known what to do with it.  I don’t sew on velvet very often and have been a bit timid about cutting into it.  When I put it next to the jacket , I knew exactly what to do with it.

And here is the result.

I love the fact that something I was on the verge of tossing out has been given new life in my wardrobe.  It looks fresh and current and my beautiful new fashion scarf is frosting on the cake.  What a great way to start the season.

20 responses »

  1. What a lovely jacket! That pattern is so classy. I’m a sewing enthusiast myself, but not as advanced as you are, although I’d love to get into drafting and that sort of thing. 🙂 Thanks for the like on my blog post “The Creative Urge”!

    • Thank you! Keep working at it and you’ll achieve whatever skill level you desire to reach. Designing and drafting is a specialized area; I wish I had a bit more training in drafting, too.

  2. Great result! I love the way you made the jacket work for you. It’s so awful to make things and then leave them in the cupboard.

    • Yes, I agree. Actually, seeing all the handy things other people are doing on their blogs has inspired me to work on my wardrobe and take a look at things I don’t wear all that much. I’m re-working a beautiful pant coat I made several years ago that I really like, but it has “issues” that made me a little less apt to wear it. I hope to publish the results soon.
      🙂

    • I agree, once you get started you’ll never want to stop. There is always something new and interesting to try, plus is a challenge to improve your skills. I’ve been sewing for years and I am still learning new things. Keep at it!

    • That’s what it is, kismet! I knew there was a word for it, but couldn’t think what it was. Thanks for your nice comments. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

