Fabric Art – Connective Threads

Standard

Art in Service of Art

There is nothing better than being able to use your creativity to the benefit of others.  Recently, I was invited to support the fundraising effort of the local chamber ensemble, Cappella Romana, an extraordinary group dedicated to the musical traditions of the early Christian periods.  Attending one of their concerts is as near to time-traveling as I can imagine;  the ancient becomes accessible allowing me to hear and feel and be touched by the same sounds that countless others down through the centuries have also heard.   In listening, time collapses making it easy to imagine Empress Theodora surrounded by the same sounds within the cavernous space of the great church in Constantinople.  That’s something special!

A Taste of Byzantium, the Sounds of Hagia Sophia will take place November 3rd at the University Club in Portland.  A signed 12″ x 14″ giclee print of my fabric mosaic, Empress Theodora, will be available at auction.    The print was produced by Digicraft with Better Light scanning system and printed on Hahnemuhle Photo Rag paper with Epson Ultrachrome archival ink.  To help patrons more fully realize the nature of the fabric medium, I wrote a brief description, stitched together a sampling of fabrics used in the original piece and also created a small example of fabric fused to muslin.  I created business cards with Theodora’s image to reflect the theme of the evening.

Here’s to a successful event!

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

2 responses »

  1. I wish I could go to this! But I have to make one correction – the nearest you can come to time travel is to actually attend an Eastern Orthodox service that chants in Byzantine style. You will hear the style of chanting, and if you study the stages of the liturgy beforehand, you will recognize the the representations of Christ’s life, the initial stages with catechumens, when the catechumens are asked to leave because the have not yet been baptized into the faith and so cannot be trusted to witness the holy mysteries. If it’s all in English, you will hear the call for church members to go and guard the doors against Roman soldiers before the Creed, Lord’s Prayer, and communion, you’ll see the mysteries celebrated on an altar that has the relic of a saint sown into the covering, to represent the tombs upon which the earliest services were performed, inside of a sanctuary that is set up in a way symbolic of the Jewish Temple, since the earliest Christians had been Jews and that’s what they knew of worship. The first time I visited was because someone told me that it would be like stepping back into ancient times, and I really wanted to experience that. Forgive me if you already know all of that, but just in case, I wanted to share 🙂

Love to hear your comments

