Craft Sewing – Fit For A Princess

Standard

What does every girl need to make her birthday complete?

Why a crown, of course!

Happy Birthday Esme!

My neighbor from across the street turned four years old today and in honor of the occasion, I decided to make her a birthday crown.   I stopped by the fabric store and picked up some pink (of course?!) felt.  I decided I should go through my vast button and trim collection that I already had on-hand at home to complete the project so I resisted making additional purchases… although I did spend quite a bit of time looking at ribbons, feathers and jewels.

When I began the project I wasn’t quite sure about how large to make the crown base, so I conducted some online research where I discovered that an average 4 year old’s head measures 19 to 20 inches in circumference.   You gotta love the internet!

I then searched on princess crown patterns and found some printable patterns;  with that, my project was underway.  I tried a variety of combinations before coming up with the final result.  The design process fascinates me; It never fails to intrigue me how one tries this and that and this and that, until suddenly a combination stands out as being “just right.”  What exactly makes it “just right” is hard to quantify, and that is the magic of designing, I suppose.

The crown is made of two layers of felt sewn together at the edges.   Decorative trims and buttons are then applied.  Soft elastic covered in a fabric sleeve at the back provides wearing ease.

close-up of applied trims and buttons

back elastic application

Her sweet smile says success!

8 responses »

    • Thanks! That’s the great thing about blogging… it inspires.

      Actually, seeing your angel has made me remember a seasonal craft I made years ago when I was a room parent. I still have one (it sits in my sewing room) and I will put it up later today, I hope you’ll like it. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

