Sewing with Fleece

Standard

Preferring tailored clothing, I’m not usually drawn to synthetic outer wear fabrics, but I just couldn’t resist this charming fuzzy-floral-fleece in pink and gray.  I had it in my stash and kept it in reserve waiting for inspiration to surface.  I know it’s not particularly suitable to use a knit for a structured coat, but I could totally visualize this fun fabric as a coat and I was willing to take the risk.  And here is the result of my venture into sewing with synthetic fleece.  I love it!

I used Vogue 2472 coat pattern and interfaced it with a soft interfacing appropriate for knitted fabrics.

For lining the body of the jacket I used a gray polyester lining fabric

and a bit of pink for the pockets (using up pieces from my scrap pile).

I covered the large silver snaps in pink duppioni silk (I know, I know, but I couldn’t help it).

The collar is designed to lay flat

or stand-up, a feature I really appreciate as my neck tends to get cold easily on chilly days.
 And what I like most of all is that the jacket is warm and feels like you’re wrapped in a blanket …

 

while still retaining some style, fit and fashion.

Go Beaver football!

11 responses »

  1. Kerri, you have smartened up a casual fabric with a stylish pattern and a lining, but I couldn’t see the pink trim you mentioned.

    • Thanks for your comment, Dot. The pink silk covers the snaps and it blends into the fabric and isn’t all that visible… which I suppose is a good thing.

Love to hear your comments

