Fabric Mosaic Project Update – Empress Theodora

Standard

Empress Theodora

From the mosaics of the Basilica of San Vitale, Ravenna

I’ve been making steady progress on my fabric mosaic and have completed the most critical part, the face.  Sometimes I work on the face in the beginning, other times it comes at the very end.  I let each individual project direct its own course and just do what seems to feel right at each step of the way.  In this case, the face came last.  Expressions are difficult and Theodora was a very complex person, a saint, a sinner, an empress of the Roman/Byzantine Empire and perhaps one of the most powerful women in history. I’m not really sure what all that looks like, but hope that I have captured elements of her persona in this piece.

I have to design and complete a border and then it will be finished and ready to take in for a high-resolution scan.

Please feel free to comment; your input is appreciated
.

Click on the images below to see greater detail of mosaic construction

25 responses »

    • 🙂 Yes, funny how “dog” has entered into our collective vocabulary thanks to that lovable Randy.
      Thank you so much for your encouragement, I appreciate your feedback tremendously.

    • Thank you, Julie. Yes, they are very intricate and take a lot of planning to execute. The medium has been a challenge to get across to people, becaue my online phots are not very detailed and do not show the true nature of the work. If you’re interested in seeing slices of various pieces close up, so you can see how they’re constructed, you can visit my other wordpress blog at: http://remnantworksfabricmosaics.wordpress.com/

      Thanks again for visiting my blog and giving me encouragement.

  1. Kerri, An amazing piece of work, the attention to detail is fantastic. I admire your artistic skills and patience it takes to create it. Great Job!!

Love to hear your comments

