Princess Addie’s Dressmaking Adventure

Standard

“I like pretty things.”

               princess Addie

I think I’m a teacher at heart. I really like the idea of introducing children to new experiences outside of their everyday lives and with that in mind, my Sewing Adventures has come into being.   The Adventure provides a child with the opportunity to experience the various steps in the process of dressmaking.  We begin by searching pattern books for the perfect dress, followed by measurements and size selection.  Then we peruse the array of beautiful fabrics narrowing down our choices to of favorites. Then it’s off to visit the notion department for necessary threads and zippers, etc.

It is wonderfully creative for the kiddo and a whole lot of fun for me.  I have found that children are refreshingly free of preconceived rules about color and design and go in all sorts of directions that I might never think of.  It’s always a delight to set my fashion sense aside and let the princess take the lead.

I knew I was in for a good time when we first arrived at the fabric store; Addie looked around at the huge display of color we were surrounded by and then looked up at me with her sparkling eyes and said, “I like pretty things!”  I smiled and answered, “Hey, me too!”  And so began Addie’s Dressmaking Adventure.

tea tray

3 responses »

  1. That is so awesome. When I was little I loved looking at the pattern books with my mother and then choosing fabric and, of course, the notions department for buttons and such was the best part.

    • Yes, I sewed for my three boys when they were little, but boys mostly care about making Halloween costumes. My friend has two beautiful granddaughters and these are the little girls in the videos. Sewing for girls is a totally different experience… they are so interested in every aspect. And, I do love tea parties, too. 🙂

Love to hear your comments

