Sewing – Summer Style

Standard

As they say, third time’s a charm.  I’ve made this pattern twice now in cotton florals and I decided to step up my game with a piece of hot-fuchsia linen.  I must say,  I am very happy with the results.  I like the understated sophistication of a linen dress for summer; it’s easily accessorized up or down making it extremely versatile.  A pretty summer sandal, the right jewelry and it’s perfect for an evening out.  Or, slide into some comfy flip-flops and go grocery shopping in style.  Either way it works, making it a great addition to my summer wardrobe.

I’m seeing a little black dress on the horizon.

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

20 responses »

  1. Hi Kerri,
    Thanks for “liking” my post “Color, Part Two” on
    uribotanicalgardens.wordpress.com
    The fuchsia dress is beautiful and it fits you to a T!!! I’d love one in turquoise….
    Best,
    Gabrielle
    PS took a look at remnantWorks and all I can say is Wow. So beautiful!

    • Hi Gabrielle,

      Thank you for all your nice comments.

      I revisited your blog and it is truly a work of art; the photographs are so very beautiful. I love flowers, gardens and beautiful landscapes.

      I like to garden a little myself and have put together a video of what I see in the summer time in my backyard. You might like to watch it at:

      Thank you again and I look forward to seeing more or your lovely blog entries.

      Kerri
      P.S. turquoise linen… sounds splendid!

Love to hear your comments

