Sewing With Cotton

Standard

I haven’t made a cotton dress for so many years I can’t remember how long it’s been.  I do remember working with my mother on a dress made in a peach shade of dotted swiss cotton in 7th, or maybe it was 8th grade.  Somewhere between junior high and the present (many moons) , cotton just disappeared from my consciousness as a dressmaking material.  I think it was rayon and emphasis on the beautiful drape rayon provides that came into fashion sewing somewhere along that way that sidelined cottons into the realm of quilting and craft sewing.  Serious apparel seamstresses, at least in my world, just don’t use quilting cotton, opting for higher end linens, wools, silks.   But, as history bears repeating, what is old has become new and with the retro-look harkening back to the 1950’s and 60’s, quilting cotton is back with a vengeance.  I know I’m slow to take up with the new trends, but I’ve finally caught on and am taking another look at cotton and it’s possibilities for apparel.

First I found a great floral in one of my favorite color combinations.  I love spring green and am always drawn to it, so this was an easy choice.

Next I went through my pattern library and found something simple for summer.  I prefer princess seaming, because it is easy to modify and always flattering to the figure.  This particular dress is a little different from usual princess patterns, in that it has back dart rather than seaming.

I decided to line the dress to give support and shape, but also to preclude the need to wear a slip…  I really don’t like to wear slips in the summer.  Lining was a little extra work, because I had to create my own and attach it to the facings.

It went together without any difficulties and I can definitely say that I am an quilting cotton convert.

Posing for my  paparazzo with my good-natured neighbor

Back view

I went through my closet and found this coordinating cardigan and a necklace to finish the look.  Summer her I come!

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

4 responses »

  1. Don’t understand why cotton went out of fashion. I love to work in cotton – and with all the prints out there – on cottonno less – then why not.

    Cute dress – beautiful print – don’t leave cotton again 😉

Love to hear your comments

