Sewing – Decor Pillow Tutorial

Standard

I made a pillow today.  I had some leftover pieces of fabric with an adorable Chinese toile pattern on it that is perfect for a pillow front. I shopped for something to complement the back and came up with a nice stripe in French blues…  just perfect with this toile.

Today I will walk you through the steps in making an easy decorative pillow.  I like to put zippers in my pillow coverings so that they can be cleaned and/or easily changed out so that I can re-use the pillow form.  I prefer feather pillows, and since they are a little more expensive than form inserts or polyester fiberfill, I like to recycle them from season to season and pillow to pillow.   Once you start making  your own pillows, you’ll never bother with the cheesy things you find at the store that are stuffed with… God only knows what and from where.

1)  I began with the two panels of fabric and serged around the edges to protect them from fraying.

2)  I searched through my zippers to find one that would do.  Zippers don’t have to match perfectly, because if they’re put in properly they won’t show; of course, they should be close to the background color in the fabric or tastefully coordinated.  Then I placed the zipper centering it between the two side seams at the bottom seam line.

3)  I stitched the zipper in place using the placket insertion method.  I like this method best, because it creates nice coverage for the zipper teeth.  invisible zippers are also nice in pillows, but I didn’t have one that matched, so I improvised by using an alternative method.

4)  Once the zipper application was completed, I stitched the other three seams of the pillow making sure to leave enough of the zipper open so that I would be able to turn the pillow inside out later.

5)  Once all the remaining seams were stitched I trimmed the corners, and then turned the pillow right side out.

6)  I pressed the pillow shaping it and making sure the corners were completely turned out to a soft point.

7)  Then I placed pillow insert into pillow cover.  I smooshed the insert corners into place to ensure the corners were filled out.

8)  Voila!  As quick as a wink I had a beautiful decorator pillow ready to use or give as a gift.

4 responses »

  1. Beautiful! I love this pillow and your whole Blog! It’s very exciting to see what you can do with fabric once you get beyond the beginners stage! I’m looking forward to that. And to more great posts from you! (:

Love to hear your comments

