Sewing with Miss Mayzie

Standard

I always enjoyed sewing for my children when they were wee ones.  I still have the little jeans, complete with rivets, that I made so many years ago.  I had three boys and sewed for all of them.  I reached my pinnacle in boys wear with tailored dress coats, and the white duppioni silk short-all with a navy sailor collar complete with silk grosgrain ribbon stripes, you know…  the kinds of things English royal children wear.  Of course, none of the boys were very excited about wearing these things once they became conscious of what other kids were wearing, but I had a few precious years of dressing them like princes.

Every now and then I get the urge to make a little girls dress; I used to sew my nieces but they’re grown now, too.  I made dresses to donate to school auctions, but auction days are over.  So now, when that urge to sew something pink strikes me, I’m at loose ends.  Last summer while having a conversation with a long time friend ( since 4th grade to be precise) who happens to have four granddaughters,  I asked her if she would like to me make a dress for one of them.  Of course, she said yes.

Being that I tend to view children as little sponges ready to absorb experiences, and I wanted to make this project more than just getting a new dress and elevate it into a creative sewing adventure for my little pupil.   I did this by bringing her into the process.  Together we visited the fabric store,  took measurements, selected a pattern, deliberated over fabrics and made a final choice from the many options available; all the major decisions for the dress were made by Mayzie.  Then we had a fitting so she could try on the finished product.

And what should you do when you’re wearing a new dress?  Have a tea party, of course!

See youtube here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DqL-yFL_0M&list=UUoDqX3YB19EigDTFVqhm19g&index=2&feature=plcp

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

Love to hear your comments

