“In the Sewing Universe”

Standard

In 2008 graphic designer,  Melissa Delzio, developed the concept of  publishing a book extolling the virtues of the City of Roses, Portland, Oregon. As the driving force behind the project, Melissa put out a call to locals requesting they write about their favorite things in Portland and submit stories for publication in, Our Portland Story  http://ourportlandstory.com/.  Of course I wanted to write about the fabulous fabric resources we have in Portland and thus, “In the Sewing Universe” was born.  My submission was accepted and included in the groundbreaking first edition of Melissa’s energized book.  My page was designed by the talented graphic designer Marisa Green of studio danae. http://www.studiodanae.com/  and I absolutely adore what she did with my page…  it is so pretty in pink and the vintage touch is in inspired.  The book was published in 2010 with a well attended launch party and book-signing  held at Mississippi Studios:  http://www.mississippistudios.com/  It was great fun and I am glad to have been a part of this innovative and Portland savvy project.

Read here:  In the Sewing Universe by Kerri Jones

                     

About Kerri

I am a fabric-sewing enthusiast. All of my art is created in the medium I know best, beautiful, luscious, fabulous fabric. I have an intuitive understanding of the relationships between color, texture and design combined with my passion for detail and devotion to technical mastery makes fabric the natural medium for my artistic expressions My primary sources of inspiration for my sewing include historic costume, the interplay between fashion trends and classical forms, a penchant for quality and excellence and the beautiful colors I see in nature.

Love to hear your comments

