Lebanese Cuisine – Where the Sun Rises

Standard

Recipes from the Levant

A couple of days ago I was searching the internet for something interesting for dinner and came across a recipe for Lebanese Chicken and Rice.  I decided to give it a try.

I began by cooking a whole chicken with onion, garlic, carrot, parsley, lemon, cinnamon sticks and cloves.

preparing the chicken

preparing the chicken

After cooking, I removed the chicken from the bone and cut it into bite-sized pieces.

chopped chicken

remove chicken from bone and cut chicken into pieces

Next, I browned cashews in olive oil. Be careful not to scorch them like I did.  The recipe called for cashews, but I think I would prefer to use pine nuts next time.

brown cashews in olive oil

brown cashews in olive oil

After browning, I set the cashews aside to drain.  The recipe called for vermicelli to be added and browned, but I used angel hair pasta broken into small pieces instead.

brown vermicelli or thin pasta

brown vermicelli or thin pasta

Once browned I added basmati rice and a portion of bokharat spice mixture and pepper.

vermicelli, rice and bokharat

Then I returned the cooked chicken to the pan and added liquid.

add chicken and liquid

add chicken and liquid, cover for cooking

While the rice dish simmered, I prepared fresh green beans with chopped roma tomatoes and garlic tossed in olive oil for roasting.

green beans with tomato and garlic

green beans with tomato and garlic

I decided to make a Lebanese-style tomato sauce to go over the chicken and rice to add flavor and substance.  The sauce can be prepared quickly and easily by adding fresh lemon juice and bakharat spice to taste to canned tomato sauce.

Once prepared, serve and garnish with cashews.   Bon Appetit!

IMG_8343

x

x

9 responses »

  1. Ah! If only we could smell and taste the yumminess of this delicious meal through the computer! Thanks for stimulating my appetite on this beautiful Canadian Thanksgiving Day!

    • Oh, how nice, Happy Thanksgiving! Do Canadians eat turkey like your neighbors to the south do on Thanksgiving Day? Whatever you feast upon, have a beautiful day. :)
      And yes, the spices of Middle Eastern cuisines do create a wonderfully exotic aroma in the kitchen.

Love to hear your comments

