RemnantWorks Vintage Patterns

Standard

Open For Business

Vogue 1862

Yves Saint Laurent Paris Original Design

Yves Saint Laurent
Paris Original Design

One thing that has recently become very apparent to me is that I need to reduce the numbers of sewing patterns I have in my collection.  I have been collecting since I began sewing around the age of  13 and that means I have many hundreds and perhaps even thousands of patterns taking up space.

Sorting through all my patterns has been a trip down memory lane.  I seem to remember everything I ever made and when.  I like that.  The pattern above was something I made while at university and I remember buying the fabric and making it up in my little apartment on Polk Street.  It’s hard to believe I ever wore my dresses so short, but we all did.  And those wedge shoes are back in style again.

I know that people are selling “vintage patterns” online and it would be nice to make a small return on this lifelong investment, so I decided to see what I could do.   I opened my store about a week ago and was quickly bitten by the bug.  I sold my first pattern on Sunday and another one today.  How cool is that?!

If you know of anyone who is in the market for vintage patterns, send them my way.  I will be adding new stock daily and have quite a selection from the 70’s and 80’s with a few from the late 60’s.

So far I am only shipping to US customers, because of cost of shipping internationally is prohibitive.   I thought I’d start locally to see how it goes with the thought of possibly expanding later.  Wish me luck! :)

22 responses »

  1. Oh how I hear you and sympathise regarding international shipping costs. I’m trying to set up to sell my Giclee prints but the cost of shipping to the UK, where roughly half of my potential clients are located, is more than the print cost when you add customs duty etc. Upsetting. I know it’s going to cost me a lot of sales. :(

    Good luck selling your surplus vintage patterns! I should probably look through my stash too. I don’t have very many as I haven’t done much dressmaking at all for the last 15 years or so and, even when I did, I focused more on re-enactment costuming. However, I’m pretty sure that I have some patterns for atrocious (now) 80s hair decorations (all fluffle, flounce and lacy spray) that will worth the amusement!

    • Liz, have you looked into an online company for selling your giclee prints? I have my RemnantWorks store on Imagekind and they take care of everything. I sold three prints to someone in Britain last May through that site. They do the printing and handle all the details. You give them your digital files to print from and set your own mark-ups and do the rest. They also provide matting and framing options. This might be a good option for you.

      • I have a local printer. Because of the nature of my work and the difficult metallic elements, we needed to do this and make a composite image of about 15 separate photographs in order to reproduce each colour and the metallics with the best vibrancy and tonal range possible.

        I also have a ‘gentleman’s agreement’ of exclusivity with him and I don’t begrudge him that, because he just put hundreds of extra hours in to work around some technical issues that we had due to my materials, but didn’t charge me any extra. :)

        • Yes, I have similar issues with digitizing the metallic elements in my art, too. It requires at least two scans and still it’s not truly metallic looking. I will be interested to see your giclees when you have them ready to show.

        • He did a pretty good job! No, not good: unbelievably awesome.

          Thanks! I know painters working with a lot of gold leaf have a similar problem too, so we’re not alone! The website is still under construction, but the digital images should be up (watermarked etc. but still pretty clearly visible) within the next couple of days and the site will then launch. I’ll let you know when it’s up and running!

          I’m thrilled with the quality of both images and prints: the metals can never have that wonderful changing sheen as you shift perspective and the principal direction of ambient light sources that originals do, but it’s the best job I think my printer could have done!

    • Yes,that is true, but I received a nice email this morning from someone I sold a pattern to who said she was so excited about finding that particular pattern that she remembered from the 1980’s. That made me happy to think that my pattern is going to a good home where it will be loved and cared for. :)

  2. Best of luck with selling your patterns (I’m in France so I can’t buy any, sorry!)
    My mum used to wear dresses that short too, it’s hilarious, because when I was a teenager I wouldn’t have been allowed out the door in something short, but in the late sixties/early seventies everyone really was wearing them! :)

Love to hear your comments

